OFFICIAL



REGULATOR LEADERSHIP COHORT

Communique

The Regulator Leadership Cohort met on 1 May 2024.

The Cohort's purpose is to support the government's regulatory reform agenda to modernise regulation. This keeps the regulatory framework fit-for-purpose in a digital era, protects against regulatory failures and improve productivity through technology, data and digital reform opportunities and stewardship. Members of the Cohort share knowledge and expertise to tackle common challenges brought by regulating in an ever-changing environment.

Interim Chair David Parker AM, Chair and CEO of the Clean Energy Regulator, welcomed the Cohort members and invited Richard Windeyer, Deputy Secretary, Department of Finance to provide a brief introduction. Mr Windeyer highlighted the value of bringing together the Cohort and the role it will play in the broader delivery of the government's regulatory reform agenda. Kelly Wood, Assistant Secretary within the Regulatory Reform Division gave an overview of the regulatory reform agenda.

David Parker AM reflected on the important work the previous Cohort delivered including the development of the New Head of Regulator Pocket Guide. The Guide provides ten key tips and tricks from current and former regulators on what they wish they knew on their first day. The Guide is now available publicly. A key stewardship function of the Cohort was to create top level networks to help solve problems identified by regulators.

Edward Santow, Co-Director, Human Technology Institute Industry and Professor – Responsible Technology, University of Technology Sydney presented their interim independent expert advice on the development of an AI Regulatory Strategy for Australia. The work is being developed in partnership with the Department of Industry, Science and Resources and the Department of Finance. The Cohort members noted the common opportunities and challenges regulating – and using – AI.

The Cohort discussed the priority areas for the forward work plan and how the Cohort can support the government's regulatory reform agenda. The broad themes identified were:

- Safe and responsible regulation of AI, together with the use of AI as a regulatory tool in the context of rapid evolution.
- Exploring and leveraging existing RegTech and ICT solutions from other regulators. Capability uplift to design and purchase regulatory ICT solutions.
- Fostering greater collaboration between regulatory policy makers and regulators.
- Supporting information sharing between regulators.
- Regulating entities outside of Australia's jurisdiction.



- Uplifting the skills and capability of regulators (including regulatory craft) and considering regulation as a profession.
- Building and fostering trust with regulated entities and the community.
- Navigating adjustments to regulatory posture and sharing compliance and enforcement approaches.

The <u>Terms of Reference</u> were agreed, with tri-annual meetings. The next meeting is scheduled for 4 September.

Secretariat support is provided by the Regulatory Reform Division of the Department of Finance: APSRegulatoryReform@finance.gov.au

Membership

Agency	Cohort member
Clean Energy Regulator	David Parker AM (Chair)
Department of Finance	Richard Windeyer
Australian Taxation Office	Rob Heferen
Australian Communications and Media Authority	Nerida O'Loughlin PSM
Australian Energy Regulator	Clare Savage
Australian Prudential Regulation Authority	John Lonsdale PSM
Australian Skills Quality Authority	Saxon Rice
Civil Aviation Safety Authority	Pip Spence PSM
Department of Health and Aged Care	Professor Anthony Lawler
Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission	Janet Anderson
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission	Gina Cass-Gottlieb
Acting CEO and Board member, APVMA	Dr Melissa McEwen
Fair Work Ombudsman	Anna Booth
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority	Josh Thomas
Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water	Rachel Parry
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry	Adam Fennessy PSM
IP Australia	Michael Schwager
Australia and New Zealand School of Government	Professor Caron Beaton-Wells
Australian Securities and Investments Commission	Joseph Longo
Food Standards Australia New Zealand	Dr Sandra Cuthbert